THE POPLARS Logo
Shop Lane, Wingfield, Trowbridge, Wiltshire, BA14 9LN
Tel: 01225 752426 | Email: info@poplarsinn.co.uk

Customer Reviews


Along with our great tasting food we always endeavour to provide excellent service, that's why feedback from our customers is so very important to us. We encourage customers to submit reviews via tripadvisor, who have awarded us a Certificate of Excellence for the 5th year running for consistently achieving outstanding customer reviews.

Alternatively you can simply email any comments about our food & service to: info@poplarsinn.co.uk

Below you'll find a selection of other customer reviews we've received over recent years.


Excellent food and service


The Poplars


6x

"Lovely little country pub with cricket ground. Great to sit outside in the summer."
Bryan Crook - December 2016


"Lovely Pub with lovely food, ale and service."
Ron Lightfoot - September 2016


"A superb venue - on a sunny day even more so. On the Casque-mark Ale Trail and deservedly so. Very well kept and maintained."
Chris Sanders - September 2016


"Had a great meal here. Friendly attentive service. Delicious food. Wadworth's beer."
Gary Gotham - January 2016


"Went sunday for lunch with two friends. All had a different meal. Great food and great service."
Peter Kitts - October 2015


"Went there with friends for Sunday lunch, very nice food and lovely staff, very friendly, will definitely go again."
Graham Precey - June 2015


"I just wanted to thank you for a super lunch last Wednesday - our annual family Christmas get-together. We had a lovely time and everyone enjoyed their meals. My lamb was so tender and the Lemon Posset truly delicious. The service was excellent; everything sorted with minimum of fuss. Thank you. We'll be back again next year!"
Janice Parker - December 2014


"Have been coming to the Poplars regularly for years as perfect meeting place for 3 coming from different directions. Food always excellent, wine always very reasonable and good, relaxing ambience, staff excellent, and not too expensive. Have also attended for eg Christmas parties and no drop in standard. The fact that they are always busy whatever day of the week speaks for itself. Whenever we think about booking elsewhere for a change, we are always reluctant as compare it with the Poplars."
Chris, Elspeth and Sally - November 2014


Farmers Glory

"Thank you all for a lovely evening last week - the food and service was excellent - 19 people in one party is not easy to cater for - Well done!"
Marian James - January 2014


"A lovely evening for our Church fellowship meal tonight. Excellent service with well prepared food. Top marks and sincere thanks to all concerned."
Stanley Jones - November 2013


"We have eaten at The Poplars several times and can honestly say we have never been disappointed with the food, the service or the ambience. The menu is varied and the food always excellently prepared and presented. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the entire place has a warm, cosy feel."
Sue Jenvey - November 2013


IPA

"I went for the first time a month or so ago for a meal with friends. Everything was first class. The staff was helpful and efficient. Great food a varied menu, great surroundings very warm and friendly atmosphere. I highly recommend it for a meal, drinks or a celebration of any kind. It's nice to have somewhere like this in the location."
Mrs P Hubbart - November 2013


"My Husband and I decided to have a wedding meal as the pub and grounds looked lovely. Samantha took care of all our booking, menu and requests. The dining area looked fab, every single guest commented how nice the food looked and tasted, and the service was fantastic. Having the cricket pitch at the back of the pub meant children could run off some energy. Thank you to all at the Poplars Inn who worked so hard to make our wedding meal a fantastic afternoon in a lovely relaxed setting."
Carolyn and Joe - October 2013


"By far the best food and service in Wiltshire - you never disappoint. We will continue going back as often as we can. And a special thank you for taking on board the requests I made when booking due to our circumstances, it really was very appreciated."
Mrs Daniella Robles - July 2013


St George & the Dragon

"Visited here last night with some friends. The food was excellent & the service was efficient & friendly. A lovely feel to the pub. We will definitely be back!!"
F & C Morgan - June 2013


"We had a super evening at the poplars, thestaff were friendly and accomodating to our needs.The range of options on offer was great, which made it difficult to choose. The food was lovely and served promptly. Our waitress was really helpful and this was appreciated. Many thanks"
Elaine Phipps - May 2013


"Our third really fine lunch and we will come again despite living 81 miles away!!! Will have to be here for an evening meal one day."
Paul and Claudette - February 2013


"Visited for the first time this evening. The food was really lovely and even though there was a slight mix up, it didn't matter as it was so nice. The service was great and a lovely setting. Will definitely be returning."
Anonomous Customer - July 2012


"We have visited this place so many times and have never had a bad meal and/or service."
Shelley Wale - May 2012


St George & the Dragon

"We have had a wonderful evening last night (13-05-'12) in the Poplars Inn. Great food and very friendly and entertaining people. We will be back on some holiday with our boys, so be ware of your cricket lawn because they prefer soccer. Thanks from Holland!"
Gert & Marjan van Brenk - May 2012


"Six of us had Sunday lunch at The Poplars yesterday. Everyone agreed that their food was wonderful. I had Fish Pie - and it was delicious. The Chocolate and Hazelnut Pudding thingy with the yummy chocolate sauce was to die for! Thank you for a lovely family meal."
Phyllis Prior - February 2012



The Poplars